Wisteria Envy!

I knew this was coming, it happens every year, severe case of wisteria envy! Bagni di Lucca is currently full of very large, stunning purple wisteria. The scent is beautiful and although they are growing in people’s gardens their size and visibility means we all get to enjoy them. Yet still I can’t help wishing each actually belonged to me! This is the one I love the most, it’s about 30 seconds away from Villa Rosalena, so I do get to see it daily during the all too short flowering period. It’s the dusky mauve against the grey stone wall I like.

I do have a wisteria, so my envy is not really very justified! It’s just that mine is small. It appeared a couple of years ago. It’s not in the best of places, not where I’d have chosen, but as it self seeded I’ve accepted nature’s choice. It is beside the steps, so it’s wonderfully fragrant when you walk past.

There are two large wisteria in the neighbouring gardens, so one of these below must be mother to mine!

About From a Tuscan Villa

Tuscan B&B, bed and breakfast accommodation and self catering villa rental in Bagni di Lucca, northern Tuscany, Italy
This entry was posted in At Villa Rosalena, Bagni di Lucca, Spring, Tuscany and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wisteria Envy!

  1. Trish says:

    Absolutely lovely! And now…how about an update on the plumbago???!!!

  2. Di Kennard says:

    lovely blog Caroline, best plant your own ready for next year๐Ÿ™‚ xx

  3. Di Kennard says:

    NB just seen that you DO have one so ignore my comment. But you could def plant one where you want it? x

  4. Joanna Nobile says:

    I am always so envious when I pass Villa Rosalena this time of year as you are surrounded by the most beautiful wisteria, cascading down walls and over pergolas. Just beautiful and the smell as you pass is divine. Lucky you!! The photos are lovely and the post is great can’t wait for your next one!

  5. They are wonderful aren’t they, and must be very old to be so large, we are so lucky to be benefitting from the foresight of those who lived here in days gone by and have left such a legacy for our town.

  6. antoguida says:

    i adoro i glicini!!!๐Ÿ™‚

  7. miss p says:

    Reblogged this on A FRESH START and commented:
    So beautiful….I want to go!!!

  8. mulino dominillo says:

    Wisteria grows very quickly, so you will have your very own beautiful plant very soon. A piece of advice, do not try to prune it… I almost wrecked a wisteria by doing this…

  9. Oh it looks like a dream! I can’t even imagine how delightful it must smell๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Malou says:

    Stunning! Our wisterias are still far from this blooming stage. I guess it will even be a lot later considering that the temperature here is still too chilly. I love the heavenly scent of wisterias and we have them by the front door. Can’t wait for the blooms! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Very interesting to know how different the flowering times are in different countries, mine is almost finished, some of the ones pictured are still in flower but others are all green leaf now. I look forward to seeing Dutch wisteria.

  11. Can relate to that – but at least from your vantage point you get so see lots of that iconic, purply blue haze … ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

