Plum blossom confetti and magnolia envy

I feel very unoriginal, but like many bloggers at the moment I cannot help but share a little bit of spring! In our garden and patch of hillside the first little signs of spring are quite tiny, violets and narcissus. But now to join them are the biggies, the plum trees in blossom. That’s what really lifts the spirits.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first of the plum blossom was the pink blossom on dark leaved trees, these give us tiny deep red cherry plums, too fiddly for eating but which make a lovely tart jam.

Most of our trees have white blossom, these are a mixture of yellow and purple plums.

The plum tree blossom is so important for me as the marker for spring as the other trees on our hill are still bare and wintry.

The blossom is sadly so short lived, already with the slightest of breezes it’s starting to fall like confetti. But there will be so many other spring beauties to follow I doubt I’ll mind too much. Spring does bring out another kind of green in me, that of envy. Already I’ve been coveting  mimosa trees at the start of March and now we’re into mid March it’s magnolias. I do have a magnolia grandiflora, a huge evergreen, but what I’m currently envious of is the ones that flower now on leafless branches. Yesterday I spotted a gorgeous one outside the Villa Fiori here in Ponte a Serraglio, Bagni di Lucca, and today whilst walking to the post office another stunner in a garden in Fornoli. How can I not be envious!

About From a Tuscan Villa

Tuscan B&B, bed and breakfast accommodation and self catering villa rental in Bagni di Lucca, northern Tuscany, Italy
This entry was posted in At Villa Rosalena, Bagni di Lucca, Spring, Tuscany, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Plum blossom confetti and magnolia envy

  1. Letizia says:

    Beautiful photo’s!!🙂

  2. Debra Kolkka says:

    I can see your plum trees from here. I love them!!!

  3. Wow! Such beautiful photos! I didn’t realize plum trees were so beautiful when they flower. Here in Greece the harbinger of spring is the almond tree – they often flower for a single day and then the wind blows all the blossoms away… so sad but even more beautiful because it’s so fleeting I guess. Thanks for sharing these photos!

  4. Kathy T says:

    You can never have to much spring..Love the photographs!!

  5. edebock says:

    I am suffering from severe envy! We had a blizzard last night and my husband just came in from shovelling snow!

  6. Joanna Nobile says:

    What a lovely post. The photos are amazing. The plum blossom is delicate, however if you don’t loose it, are you planning on making some jams with it this year! Can’t wait to see your next post perhaps with the fruits on the trees and the lovely summer flowers too!

  7. The tiny cherry plums make good jam and also chutney. This is the jam recipe I use http://www.cottagesmallholder.com/two-wild-plum-jam-recipes-38

  8. Mulino Dominillo says:

    Beautiful spring photos, and I am also green with envy!!!!

  9. Trish says:

    I can almost feel the spring sunshine in Bagni di Lucca here in chilly Northumberland.
    Lovely photos!
    PS mike says hello too!

  10. Di Kennard says:

    i cant wait to taste your plum jam! great pics thank you xx

  11. Maryam says:

    Amazing photos…..I am supremely jealous as well…. we never get snow and the first official day of spring we had a record 7.5 inches of snow….Our little town shut down. Thanks for sharing your part of the world.

  12. Pingback: Springtime in Alberta « Following Augustine

  13. Annette says:

    Love the first signs of Spring, especially after a long Winter. I can almost taste the jam🙂

  14. Annette says:

    I love the first signs of Spring, especially after a long Winter. I can almost taste the jam🙂

  15. Malou says:

    Wow! It is so beautiful out there. Sharing these delightful spring pictures is always welcome. It is a pleasure to see how spring is taking shape out there in Tuscany. 😉

Leave a Reply

