Snow! Where’s Mr. Tumnus?

This is what we woke up to this morning. Magical isn’t it. I’m like a little kid when it comes to snow. On days like this anyway, when I don’t have to go out in it unless I want to and it doesn’t inconvenience me! And I haven’t been outside yet,  all these were taken from the windows. For now I’m staying warm indoors, appreciating the beauty and looking for Mr. Tumnus.

Mr. Tumnus is the faun in ‘The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe’, he meets Lucy as she arrives in Narnia, beside the lamp-post. Look at the photos-I have a suitable lamp-post, so where is he?

When I grew up, in Sussex on the South coast of England, we hardly ever had more than a token few flakes of snow, and so C. S  Lewis’ wonderland was enchanting to me.  Now that I get to see some proper snow here in Tuscany, Italy it always makes me think of Narnia.There are footprints in this one, but probably not Mr. Tumnus, more likely one of the cats !

The snow started here rather tentatively yesterday afternoon, but was only just starting to settle by bedtime so I wasn’t sure how much we would wake up to. Looking at the depth on the table it looks to be quite a bit.

We only get one or two days like this each year here in the Lima valley so I think it’s time to go and build a snowman now.

UPDATE – Have ventured out as far as the garden now. Here is my snowman!

About From a Tuscan Villa

Tuscan B&B, bed and breakfast accommodation and self catering villa rental in Bagni di Lucca, northern Tuscany, Italy
This entry was posted in At Villa Rosalena, Bagni di Lucca, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Snow! Where’s Mr. Tumnus?

  1. Debra Kolkka says:

    I hope it is like this next week!

    • It looks set to stay very cold for a while now, with more snow forecast by meteo.it for Saturday, next Tuesday and next Sunday, so I think you will catch some! I’ll probably have had enough of it by then, but loving this first day!

  2. Di Kennard says:

    I really love your blog today! We went for a mammoth walk in it, biting wind and the sun was trying its hardest to break through! enjoyed it very much. Soup day today and then tea and films. Casserole and roast pots for supper perfect Di xx

  3. Di Kennard says:

    and BRILLIANT photographs x

  4. Lovely snow and lovely pictures. Here in PA, USA the snow has been scarce this year. I miss it.

    • Thank you. I know exactly what you mean about missing it. We’ve had a very mild winter until now and it didn’t seem quite right. I’m happy now we’ve had our bit of snow. Now spring can come!

  5. It looks absolutely beautiful!!

  6. Gian Banchero says:

    Beautiful, beautiful photographs!!!! My cousin in Genova sent me photos of the snow in the city and Riviera, same copious amounts. It’s the opposite here in the San Francisco Bay Area (California), though we’re to have rain today last night I heard a mockingbird which means that though spring hasn’t arrived it’s not that far off…. I’m still envious of your magic snowfall, what a gift to wake up to, just magic!

  7. Rain is never good is it. Snow or sunshine, either are okay. It was so mild before here this year some of the spring flowers were out already so I hope they won’t be killed off.

  8. Jean Petrilli says:

    Caroline,
    Those were awesome pictures. I remember standing at the window in the Chocolat room and taking pictures. The snow sure does give you a different look. Like you, I don’t mind looking at it, I just don’t like being out in it if I don’t have to. Love your posts. Wish I was there.

  9. willrowlands says:

    Love the photos. An italian friend has tried several times to send pictures from her mobile (she’s in Chifenti/Fornoli) without success. Now I’ve seen these I know how lovely it looks and how much snow you’ve had. Thanks for posting them on your blog.

  10. Alan Northey says:

    Fantastic. Wish we had had a day like this last January when we stayed with you!

    Looking forward to our May visit!

  11. Wow! Amazing. My friends in Paris and Bologna are all talking about the cold and snow. Stay warm and enjoy.

  12. Debra Kolkka says:

    I’ve reblogged this on Bagni di Lucca. I think it is fabulous.

  13. CherfromSydney says:

    This is stunning …spectacular ….. beeeuuuutifu!!!!! I am so envious. Wonderful photos!
    I usually get to see Bagni di Lucca from May to August; I wanna be there right now!
    Anyone know what it’s like now in San Cassiano di controne or Cembroni?

  14. janeisawake says:

    This is so beautiful! I have seen the snow once on Mt Pilatus (one clump on the ground at the end of May), but I’ve never seen snow fall! One day!! (hopefully one day soon!)

  15. Mulino Dominillo says:

    Beautiful photos, although…. it must be very cold. We wish we were there as it looks magic!!! I am sure that our neighbours will be posting some photos to us so that we will be able to see how our old mill looks with so much snow around. It must be beautiful. Keep warm!!!

  16. Thank you-these are amazing photo’s! Stay warm.

  17. Sandra H says:

    What a winter wonderland! I love freshly fallen snow, and the pictures of Bagni di Lucca covered in white are breathtakingly beautiful. I love the lamp-post illuminating in the snow, and yes, the scene does remind me of C S Lewis’ book scene. Perhaps, Mr Tumnus is snuggled inside his home and enjoying the view too? Your snowman looks happy. Thank you for sharing those lovely magical scenarios.

  18. Liz says:

    Amazing pics Caroline, Ponte looks more magical than ever!!! Can’t wait till next month. See you then….. Liz & Jim

  19. Malou says:

    Wow, this is my idea of winter wonderland! That snowman is so cute! Lots of snow fell today but not the sticky one for snowman making. Still, the kids had lots of fun on the sled😉

  20. jay says:

    Your photos are beautiful have fun in the snow while it lasts.
    Down in Oz we had an overnight low of 26.1 C ! 🙂

  21. Lyra says:

    I’ve never been to Tuscany but thanks to your photos, it’s moving up the “must visit” list. It even looks lovely buried in snow.

  22. edebock says:

    Your snow photos are gorgeous but we get lots of that here in Canada. We’d like to visit when the weather is warmer. What time of year would you suggest?

  23. Reblogged this on Italy: From St. Peter to Caravaggio and commented:
    From a Tuscan Villa sends photos of beautiful winter- wonderland!

  24. I always think of Narnia when I see snow, then I start craving the hot buttered crumpets Mr Tumnus serves Lucy… Beautiful photos, it looks so serene. Wonder if/when the snow will arrive in Lucca this year…

Leave a Reply

