Spring!

Spring like things were showing themselves from late February, but I didn’t dare write a spring post in February, even though that month proved to be especially mild and sunny this year. My caution proved justified by a burst of snow on March 3rd, only for about half an hour here in Bagni di Lucca  and it didn’t settle but I was glad I’d hesitated! But now we’re in mid March so this definitely counts as Spring. So here’s a few sightings of Spring from our garden, terraces and hillside behind Villa Rosalena.

 

These violets smell exactly like the Parma Violet sweets of my childhood. Each year I make crystallised violets with them, but few ever become dainty cake decorations as the children eat them up straight away as sweets, but I don’t mind as I like the fact of them doing a bit of ‘foraging’, and eating something they’ve picked themselves wild from our hillside, though I’m not sure  proper ‘hunter gatherers’ used quite as much sugar as we do!

This is a sure sign that Spring is here, Rod giving the terraces on the hill behind Villa Rosalena the first strim of the year.

 

 

About From a Tuscan Villa

Tuscan B&B, bed and breakfast accommodation and self catering villa rental in Bagni di Lucca, northern Tuscany, Italy
This entry was posted in At Villa Rosalena, Bagni di Lucca, Spring and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring!

  1. Pingback: Spring! | From a Tuscan Villa

  2. bagnidilucca says:

    Hi, I’m Debra. My house is on the bridge. Have I met you?

    • Hi Debra, No we haven’t met, but I expect we’ve seen each other around! I occasionally succumb to Il Monaco but try not to too often! Will try and keep a look out for you. I think I can see your balcony from here. Caroline

  3. bagnidilucca says:

    You should be able to see my balcony from your place. I go to Il Monaco every morning around 9.00am. I can’t resist the cappuccino and sfoglia di mela.

Leave a Reply

