Painting the town

From Ponte a Serraglio, looking towards my house!

From Ponte a Serraglio bridge, looking towards Villa Rosalena!

From the Bernabo terrace

Painting the town red? Well a few did, and all other colours possible. This Sunday saw the 5th edition of the painting competition ‘Colori e Sapori’ where artists come to Ponte a Serraglio to paint our beautiful little town in Northern Tuscany. They have between 8am and 4pm when the works are handed over for public display and judging  in the Villa Fiori park. Meanwhile lunch is served in the park for both artists and spectators.

The artists can choose any spot around town. I love peering over their shoulders to see what they are seeing and how they have interpreted the scene. It’s fun to see the familiar in new ways and through new eyes.

It’s always a very hot day for this competition. Often the artists start in situ and then move into the shade of the trees in the park to continue. This chap rather cleverly chose to paint from inside a tower!

Sometimes I just can’t see what they are seeing no matter how hard I try! I know I’m a philistine with sadly zero artistic talent, and there’s such a thing as artistic licence- But I do like to be able to recognise the town a little! Here I think he’s painting his trousers rather than Bagni di Lucca.

And here’s a bit more pink!

The river Lima is lovely but sadly we don’t have this waterfall! And no vikings or dancers! d

These ladies see the world as a magical place. Ponte a Serraglio is indeed a little bit magical so I’ll excuse this!

At four o’clock the paintings are displayed in the park and a panel of judges awards a number of cash prizes. Top prize was  650 euros.  Children are encouraged to enter as well and free materials are provided for them.

Unfortunately I didn’t manage to stay until the results were announced. I think there were 6 prizes, so instead I’ll show you my personal top 6! In order. Do bear in mind that my criteria is very simple, it’s whether I would like it on my wall or not! It will be interesting to find out how close mine come to the experts judgements!

I’ll try to find out the real winners! I also need to give two ‘special mentions’. This next one is almost identical to the view from my window, and we even have green shutters! Did this man sneak up to Villa Rosalena without me noticing?

And this one is the only painting I saw that had our house in it, the white house, though he has missed off the green shutters!

UPDATE, Morena from Borgo degli Artisti tells me that my number 2 choice was the winner! But none of my other choices ranked!

If you would like to paint Ponte a Serraglio next July contact the Borgo degli Artisti, a local artists group who organise the competition, Morena speaks English and can help. http://www.borgodegliartisti.com/

About From a Tuscan Villa

Tuscan B&B, bed and breakfast accommodation and self catering villa rental in Bagni di Lucca, northern Tuscany, Italy
This entry was posted in Art, Bagni di Lucca, Events, Summer, Tuscany and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Painting the town

  1. Jim & Liz says:

    Lovely post again Caroline. Shame we missed it this year, but we’ll be home soon. Glad to see both of our houses were included in the last painting, although we’ll forgive you if you hadn’t noticed!!

  2. Gosh, you’re right, your house is indeed there isn’t it, just made it onto the canvas. Well fair play to this chap for accuracy and detail (except my shutters!)

  3. BEAUTIFUL Pictures, Caroline….thank you!!!

  4. Debra Kolkka says:

    It all looks great! I wish I had been there. I’ll reblog it on Bagni di Lucca and Beyond.

  5. mulino dominillo says:

    Some excellent paintings there. We missed the event this year…

  6. How wonderful! Wish we were there. We discovered this event last year and our two grandchildren, visiting from Australia, entered the competition and had a ball. Our eight year old grandson thought he was a shoe-in to win the $650 until he saw the amazing painting of his nearest competitor and he reluctantly relinquished his hope of winning the prize. They loved walking around and watching the artists at work and learnt some techniques from them, such as dabbing a variety of colours onto a tree to create leaves. They proudly accepted their certificates, awarded to all child participants, and left, beaming.
    Thank you for the beautiful photos and for rekindling a lovely memory.

  7. Debra Kolkka says:

    Reblogged this on Bagni di Lucca and Beyond and commented:
    I wish I had been in Bagni di Lucca for the art day on the weekend. Luckily, Caroline from Villa Rosalena was there and you can see the fun on her post, which I have reblogged here.

  8. petit4chocolatier says:

    Beautiful, love it all! ~ judy

  9. janinevasta says:

    Hi Caroline, I’ve come across from Debra’s blog. I was in Bagni di Lucca with the lovely Debra in May. I looks a wonderful event and no doubt a great thing for Ponte a Serraglio. Lovely post!!

  10. Olivia Mair says:

    That looks wonderful! Another place for my Bucket List!

  11. Beautiful post. It would have been fun to be there. Your criteria is the same as mine – if I’d like to hang it on my wall, I like it.

  12. Jean Petrilli says:

    I love reading your blogs. We are currently in Rome right now. We were hoping to get to Bagna di Lucca on this trip but it didn’t work out. I would also agree with you on picking the winner. Something I would hang on my wall. Hopefully someday we’ll be able to visit you again. Jean

  13. Lovely and fun! Saw your posting on Debra’s blog, and wanted to stop in and say how much I enjoy “keeping in touch” with Italy through the blog world. Thanks for sharing such an outstanding event. Too bad we missed it, as we were in Lucca in May (I did get a chance to meet Debra and her Hubby!).

  14. Madhu says:

    Wonderful post! Wish I could have witnessed this in person. Thanks for sharing your lovely images.

  15. Slowvelder says:

    Just loved this post! So many wonderful memories of Tuscany. And summer – we are freezing here in the South :)

  16. Wow there is so much going on and to do around the world! So many amazing things, Thanks for sharing :)

  17. What a perfect place for being creative and I love your choice of paintings, my criteria is very similar when it comes to art although same paintings I just love whether they look good on my wall or not.

  18. Great Shots! Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

