a poke around Lucca Antiques market.

This weekend was the Lucca antiques market. I had some specific items I hoped to find, but as is often the way I didn’t find quite the right thing. But really it was more of an excuse for a poke around there anyway, as you never know what you might find. Markets like these are a treasure hunt. There may just be hidden gems. And of course you have to look on every single stall, twice over, just to be sure! Here’s a few of the stalls that weren’t what I was looking for today, but which caught my eye anyway!

Some of the things I wonder who buys, like these keys. They look great displayed like this, but what to do with an old key? Someone must buy them, they must be someone’s ‘treasure’ ( at least they look like they might unlock a treasure chest!)

These little treasures I could easily find a use for! They look so lovely reflecting in the mirror. I would love to sip my liqueurs elegantly from glasses like these.  Currently I break glasses at such a rapid rate that I have to stick to Ikea for glasses, but maybe when I’m ‘grown up’ and less clumsy!

I was hoping to find a nice ceiling light, but those I liked hung too low for most of the family to pass safely underneath, but I did find this stall with all the bits to repair broken chandeliers so when I finally find the right light fitting at least I’ll know where to go to fix it if it has missing parts.The Lucca antiques market is held on the weekend of the 3rd Sunday of each month. It is on Saturday and Sunday, but to work out which weekend it’s the Sunday that counts, it’s always the 3rd Sunday, but the day before it may not necessarily be the 3rd Saturday. There are around 230stalls I believe. I looked at them all but didn’t count to check this! It’s easy to find, start at the Teatro del Giglio, which is to the side of the largest square in the centre of Lucca, Piazza Napoleone.

It then spreads around the piazzas near of the several churches including San Giovanni, San Giusto and the Cathedral of San Martino.And of course it trickles off down some nearby side streets, several of which have some very luxurious home decor and grand antique shops on which it would be easy to otherwise not stumble upon.

Of course it’s even more fun when it’s not a wet, grey day in February, but then as the market is only once a month one can’t wait for the weather!

About From a Tuscan Villa

Tuscan B&B, bed and breakfast accommodation and self catering villa rental in Bagni di Lucca, northern Tuscany, Italy
This entry was posted in Days trips, Events, Lucca, Tuscany, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to a poke around Lucca Antiques market.

  1. I am also a huge fan of the Lucca antique market! But as you said, it was not a glorious day to go out :)
    Nice posting! Thanks!

  2. Mulino Dominillo says:

    One of my favourite outings whenever I am in Bagni di Lucca. You never know what you are going to find… Sometimes nothing at all which will suit us, but then, there are occasions when we are lucky. The best thing is to go there with an open mind and then, if there is something that you really like, see whether you can find a place for it in your home. You can get some bargains after midday, when sellers are ready to negotiate.
    In any case, it is an enjoyable event.

  3. It looks like it would have been a lot of fun and a wonderful way to spend the day.

  4. Debra Kolkka says:

    I know I should have gone there, but it has been a bit miserable. I promise I will go next month. Perhaps we could go together.

  5. Malou says:

    Wow, how I wish I could join you in this antique market, browsing through the many stuffs on offer hoping to stumble on some treasure find. ;-)

    I love those beautiful crystal glasses with intricate designs. My daughter would have love endless rides in that merry-go-round.

  6. edebock says:

    I love the keys! I don’t know what I’d do with one but they immediately brought back memories of my grandmother’s house and it’s old fashioned lock. The book stall would also capture my attention as I really love old books.

  7. Di Kennard says:

    old keys look great randomly hung on a wall around the fire place

  8. celia says:

    just wonderful pictures to look at but sadly its all I do so keep on sending them

  9. Dolores Aquadro says:

    I enjoy all the pictures and blogs, my husband”s father was from Lucca and he (my husband) is really enjoying this. I just wish we could have visited Lucca before we got to old. Would love to have the church we they were all baptized.

  10. Amy says:

    I enjoy visiting your site! I love the open market in Italy, but never had time to shop though. We have visited Italy four times, and here were some of my small thoughts about Italy: http://shareandconnect.wordpress.com/2011/08/05/two-lifetimes/

  11. robin says:

    I visited Lucca years ago with my family of six, and we loved it! Our best memories are of bicycling along those wide and wonderful walls! We’d love to go back!

Leave a Reply

